Sunday, April 3, 2011

How Members of Legislative Council are elected

Today, I will explain how members of legislative council (vidhan parishad) of a state in India are elected.

1. One third(1/3) by MLAs among people who are not part of it.

2. One third by electorates(matdata). And Electorates includes members of municipalities, district boards and other local bodies in the states.

3. One-twelfth by electorate consisting of persons who have been, for at least three years, engaged in teaching in educational institutions within the state not lower in standard than secondary school.

4.One-twelfth by registered graduates of more than three years standing.

5. Remaining members are nominated by Governor from among those who have distinguished themselves in literature, science, art, cooperative movement and social service.

Share |


Please drop comment. It matters.